THE CASTLE, PARK AND OTHER NOTABILIA

 

A distinct attention requires the Castle Chotoviny, which was built in Baroque Style during 1770-1780 by the Cardinal Migazzi. As mentioned earlier, during 1873-1875 Jan Nadherny rebuilt this castle in new-renaissance style. The castle however in its interior decoration attests the exquisite and elegant artistic style of its owner.

The middle section of the castle was for presentation purposes, the spacious staircase was decorated with many hunting trophies and besides antlers in the wide hallway was a unique collection of sectional cuts of uprooted trees in memory of disaster that struck Chotoviny in 1891.

The large dinning room was decorated with the portraits of ancestors and with glass hutch (cabinet) with valuable porcelain. In the receiving room (lobby) there was a gallery of very unique and valuable porcelain from Holland. Besides the exclusive library, cigar room and office room there were also guest bedrooms, all decorated with exquisite paintings and South Bohemian embroidery. Another curiosity was a large gallery of pictures of celebrities who had previously visited the castle. The castle was completed with a small chapel with old-fashioned black and white paintings of the Last Supper.

This is the way castle Chotoviny looked until 1945. Thereafter Russian soldiers moved in and destroyed pretty much everything. Even the local residents helped out and stole most of the interior appliances and belongings of the castle. They destroyed whatever they could not steal.

The castle's extraordinary park deserves its own individual attention. The park contained of a rare collection of trees and beautiful flora. Once a year you could even watch the Queen Viktorie (a flower) to bloom. During this time the Chotoviny Park was considered for one of the most beautiful parks in the South Bohemia. The park was even admired by the writer Karel Capek when he was a visitor in Chotoviny.

Just like any other barony (baronage) there is a legend (tale) to be told about the Nadherny family from Borutin:

A son of a poor miller from Podhorsky Mlyn, situated in Tabor region near village Hroby, was working in Kamenice Labem as a laborer in an ore mine, near the native mill and in Udoli Josef. One day a large, black object, size of a mature man, captivated his attention. After cleaning the object he realized that it was a sculpture made out of pure silver. He than sold it, became wealthy and he bought several Estates and among the others were Chotoviny. The family of Nadherny grew the value of the Estates and they could count themselves as one of the wealthiest families of the Bohemian Kingdome at that time.

Based on another family tale, one of the ancestors of family Nadherny accidentally dug out a treasure near Kostelec - a silver sculpture of angels and saints. He sold it and for the profit he purchased Chotoviny and Adrspach Estates.

The incident that took place in May 28th 1855 had made Chotoviny famous for a long time. At the time ten year-old mayor's son Frantisek Krejci and Josef Teplo, peasant's son, nicknamed Cibulka, took the stock to feed near a spring called "V Jezerech" (In the Lakes). And right when they were about to take a drink out of the spring, an image of Virgin Marry had appeared to them in the water.

The news spread rapidly around region. And when a blind sixteen year-old Barbora Kuklova from Sudomeric washed her eyes with the spring water suddenly she was able to see. At that point nobody would doubt the miracle power of the spring. On that exact location Baron Ludvik Nadherny build a small chapel and soon after many people would come to pray. Shortly after processions of people from around the country would travel there. Many would leave this place healed and Chotoviny became sought-after pilgrimage destination. The Baron Nadherny had made glass or porcelain plague in order to express thanks to Virgin Marrie. During one season there were more than two hundred processions that unfortunately jeopardized the famous pilgrimage destination known as Klokoty. That is why the interest of the Catholic parish (Church) was to minimize the fame and prestige of the small chapel V Jezerech near Chotoviny.